Utah Rights

  1. Your right to a rental vehicle. If your vehicle was damages in a crash caused by someone else, the at-fault driver’s insurance should furnish you with a rental vehicle until your vehicle is repaired or until you get a settlement offer to purchase a different car. In the event that their insurance company delays helping you, you can look to your own insurance for rental car help (give us a call today to discuss the type of coverage you have and see if you are adequately protected).
  2. Your right to have your vehicle fixed. The driver who caused the accident should have insurance. Their insurance should cover the cost of repairing your vehicle or pay you the reasonable market value of your vehicle if your car is deemed a “total loss.” Generally speaking, you can handle this part by yourself; however, sometimes the at-fault driver’s insurance company can be difficult to work with and may not be treating you fairly. If that is the case, what should you do? Call Injury Defenders and we will gladly help you with a rental car and negotiate a fair settlement for the value of the damage to your vehicle. We are happy to provide this service to our clients for FREE.
  3. Your right to have your medical bills paid. In Utah, if you have car insurance, your own insurance has something called Personal Injury Protection (“PIP”). This PIP covers the first $3,000 worth of reasonable and necessary medical expenses. This is sometimes called “no-fault coverage” because it is your right to have your insurance pay this regardless of whose fault the accident is. By law, your insurer is required to provide $3,000 in PIP coverage. You should examine your auto policy because you may have purchased a higher amount. (give us a call today to discuss the type of coverage you have and see if you are adequately protected).

If your medical bills exceed your PIP coverage, and you don’t have health insurance, you may find it difficult to get medical care because of a lack of money. Failure to get proper and timely medical car may actually cause your condition to get worse and possibly become permanent. Consequently, it is critical that you get proper medical care and not delay treatment. You need to avoid gaps in your treatment because it can complicate your recovery and have consequences for your overall health. If you don’t have insurance and cannot afford to pay for medical treatment, then give us a call. We have helped many individuals just like you get the medical treatment they needed. Some medical providers are willing to provide treatment to you if you and your attorney give them a lien on your settlement. Also, Injury Defenders has access to third parties who are willing to advance the cost of your medical treatment if you have a good case.

  1. Your right to reimbursement of lost wages. When you are injured in an accident, you may not be able to go back to work right away. How do you get money to take care of the necessities of life? Under your PIP coverage, and if you were earning money at the time you were injured, then you are entitled to some money to cover your lost wages. The way this works varies in each situation, so give us a call to determine what your lost wage reimbursement may be. Let Injury Defenders fight for your rights to reimbursement of your lost wages.
  2. Right to pay for household expenses. Under your PIP coverage, you may be entitled to receive up to $20 per day for 1 full year to pay for the cost of household chores or other assistance. This money is available when you can no longer perform household tasks and need to pay someone else to do them for you. Give Injury Defenders a call to determine whether this is something that you would qualify for and we will fight to make it happen.
  3. Your right to recover death benefits. Under your PIP coverage, if a loved one died in a car crash, your loved one’s heir’s may be entitled to receive $3,000 in compensation and possibly $1,500 to help with funeral and burial associated costs. Give us a call to see if this applies to you.
  4. Your right to compensation for pain, suffering and loss of enjoyment of life. In Utah, unless your reasonable and necessary medical bills exceed $3,000, you are not entitled to compensation of pain and suffering. There are, however, some exceptions to this rule which we will be glad to discuss with you.   Call Injury Defenders today to find out if you are eligible to recover for your pain, suffering and loss of enjoyment of life.
  5. Your right to reimbursement for lost income. Often times when you are injured in an automobile wreck or other accident, the effects are long lasting. Sometimes the injury can affect your ability to earn money in the future. Not only is it your right to compensation of what you have already lost, but you also are entitled to be compensated for money that you will surely lose in the future because of the long term effects of your injury. Give Injury Defenders a call to better understand how this will work in your particular case.
  6. Your right to compensation for disfigurement. If you’re disfigured in any way as a result of an automobile crash or other accident, you have a right to be compensated. If you have any questions regarding what disfigurement means or if it applies to you, give Injury Defenders a call today!
  7. Your right to compensation for a reduced quality of life. You have a right to be compensated for the loss of enjoyment of your life. When you are injured by another you may lose out on things that really matter to you. The law requires that you be compensated for that loss. At Injury Defenders, we know that no amount of money can make up for having a reduced quality of life, but the law allows you to be compensated with money for that loss. Perhaps prior to your accident you were an avid golfer, or basketball player. It can be difficult to continue these activities once you are injured. Give us a call today and let us get you fair and adequate compensation for what you have lost.